Gallery Hours

Monday- Friday

By Appointment Only

Closed Saturday & Sunday




Free and Open to the Public



Donate Now

Back to Exhibitions

May 12, 2002 to February 2, 2003

The 2002 Leeway Foundation Award Recipients Photography/Works on Paper

The Philadelphia Art Alliance continues its commitment to hosting exhibitions of the Leeway Foundation's visual arts recipients current work. (The Print Center, located at 1614 Latimer St., Philadelphia, will host a concurrent exhibition of six of the award winners.) The eight Emerging and Established artists in photography and works on paper featured at the PAA are: Barbara Bullock (Bessie Berman Award); Tara Goings (Award of Achievement); Rachel Stecker (Inspiration Award); Yukie Kobayashi (Inspiration Award); Melina Hammer (Inspiration Award); Zoe Strauss (Seedling Award); Adrienne Stalek (Seedling Award); Karen Fogarty (Seedling Award). This is the fourth collaboration between the PAA and the Leeway Foundation.

The Leeway Foundation was established in 1993 by artist Linda Lee Alter to promote the welfare of women and to benefit the arts. The Foundation's grant programs support outstanding, dedicated women artists in the Philadelphia five-county area and encourage their increased recognition and representation in the community. The recipient artists were selected by a three-person panel that possessed expertise in the overlapping disciplines of photography and works on paper: Judith Brodsky, Professor Emerita at Rutgers University and founder of Rutgers Center for Innovate Print and Paper; Jan Howard, Curator of Prints, Drawings, and Photographs at the Museum of Art, Rhode Island School of Design; and Linda Lee Alter, painter and current board member of the Leeway Foundation.

Barbara Bullock is the recipient of the $50,000 Bessie Berman Grant which honors the founder's grandmother and is presented annually to a distinguished woman artist 50 years or older. Bullock has had several solo exhibitions at: Mercer County College, Mercer, PA (2002); Walt Whitman Cultural Arts Center, Camden, NJ (2000); Penn State University, State College, PA (1999); the Wilmington Arts Commission, Wilmington, DE (1990); the African American Cultural Museum, Philadelphia (1988); and Howard University, Washington, DC (1986). She is also the recipient of several awards including: Pew Fellowship in the Arts Award (1997); Pennsylvania Council on the Arts (1994); and a Public Art Commission Award at the Philadelphia International Airport.

Tara Goings is the recipient of the Award for Achievement of $20,000. Goings received her MFA from Indiana University and is the Director of Mangel Gallery, Philadelphia. She has had solo exhibitions at Schmidt Dean Gallery, Indiana University, and Tyler School of Art Galleries, Elkins Park, PA. In 1999 Goings was awarded a Window of Opportunity Grant from the Leeway Foundation and received the Rohm and Haas Purchase Prize in 1988.

Rachel Stecker is the recipient of the Leeway Inspiration Awards of $7,500. Stecker received a BFA in 2001 from the Tyler School of Art, Philadelphia, PA and has had several exhibitions during her study at the Tyler School of Art. In 2001, Stecker received the Custom Color photography award and also received the Rhode Island School of Design Photography Award (1997).

Yukie Kobayashi is the recipient of the Leeway Inspiration Awards of $7,500. Kobayashi received an MFA from the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, Philadelphia and is an art teacher at the Cheltenham Center for the Arts. She has had a solo exhibition at Nexus Gallery, Philadelphia, PA and has also exhibited at VAM Gallery, Budapest, Hunagary (2001) the American Culture Center, Damascus, Syria (2000); and Common Ground Gallery, Budapest, Hungary (1999). Kobayashi was featured in the "Window on Broad" at the Rosenwald-Wolf Gallery, Philadelphia (2001) and the Works on Paper 2001 juried exhibition. She has received: the Charles E Durtow Award in Sculpture (1999); the Ward Prize in Sculpture (1998): and the Angelo Pinto Prize for Experimental Work (1998)

Melina Hammer is the recipient of the Leeway Inspiration Awards of $7,500. Hammer received her BFA at the University of the Arts, Philadelphia (1998) and also studied at the Haystack Mountain School of Crafts. Exhibitions include: Traumatized Spaces, HammerSpace, PA (2002); Le Grange National Biennial (2000); About Face, St. Louis Artists Guild, MO (2000); and 9th Annual Juried Exhibition, Elizabethtown College, PA (2000).

Zoe Strauss is the recipient of the Seedling Award of $2,500. Strauss received a BA in Women's Studies from Temple University and is the Art Director for the Kensington Welfare Rights Union. Adrienne Stalek is the recipient of the Leeway Seedling Award of $2,500. Stalek received her MFA from Tyler School of Art and is the Assistant Dean of the University of the Arts Sculpture Department. Recent exhibitions have been at: Abington Art Center, Jenkintown, PA (2002 and 2000); The Philadelphia, Sketch Club (2002); The University of the Arts (2001 and 2002); and the Rosenwald-Wolf Gallery‹Window on Broad, Philadelphia, PA. She has recently received the Richard Guggenheim Award for Sculpture (2002);

Karen Fogarty is the recipient of the Leeway Seedling Award of $2,500. Fogarty has studied at the Moore College of Art and Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts. She has also be an art instructor at Wayne Art Center. In addition to several exhibitions at PAFA, Fogarty has exhibited at the Artists House, Philadelphia (1999, 2000, 2001); and the Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce, Philadelphia (2000).

Tags: photography, works on paper